Min (Ten Kingdoms)

Min (閩) was one of the Ten Kingdoms which was in existence between the years of 909 and 945. It existed in a mountainous region of modern day Fujian province of China and had a history of quasi-independent rule. Its capital was Fuzhou 福州. It was founded by Wang Shenzhi (王审知).


Wang Shenzhi's older brother Wang Chao was given the title of Surveillance Commissioner in 892. Wang Shenzhi himself was named military commissioner, and in 909, in the wake of the collapse of the tang dynasty two years earlier, named himself the Prince of Min. Wang Shenzhi's son declared himself the Emperor of Min in 933. At that point, his father was posthumously named Min Taizu.

Territorial Extant

The capital of the Min Kingdom was Changle, now known as Fuzhou . The kingdom was essentially limited to modern-day Fujian Province in China's southeast.


The territory of the Min was relatively isolated and rugged, thus not as economically prosperous as other regions of the Chinese realm. The Min court attempted to attract scholars that would assist in constructing an effective bureaucratic and tax system to bring the kingdom up to contemporary standards. Maritime trade developed over this period of time. This would set the stage for a successful regional maritime trade that could continue during future Chinese dynasties.

Yin Kingdom

In 943, one of Wang Shenzhi's sons rebelled and declared independence from the Min in the northwest of the territory of the kingdom. The Min court asked the southern tang dynasty for assistance in quelling the rebellion in Yin. Rather than assisting the Min government, the southern tang dynasty came in and absorbed the territory into its own holdings.

Fall of the Min

Seeing the threat posed by the southern tang dynasty, the Min court declared its allegiance to the wuyue kingdom to its north. However, this did not stop the southern tang dynasty from marching in and incorporating the remainder of the Min Kingdom into its holdings in 945

Sovereigns in Min (Ten Kingdoms) Kingdom 909-945(including Yin (943-945))

Temple Names (Miao Hao)

Posthumous Names
(Shi Hao)

Personal Names

Period of Reigns

Era Names (Nian Hao) and their according range of years

Tàizǔ (太祖)

Zhōngyì Wáng (忠懿王)

Wáng Shěnzhī |王審知


Did not exist

Did not exist

Did not exist

Wáng Yánhàn


Did not exist

Hùizōng (惠宗)

Qísù Míngxiào Huángdì (齊肅明孝皇帝)

Wáng Yànjūn


Lóngqǐ (龍啟) 933-935
Yǒnghé (永和) 935

Kāngzōng (康宗)

Too tedious thus not used when referring to this sovereign

Wáng Jìpéng


Tōngwén (通文) 936-939

Jǐngzōng (景宗)

Too tedious thus not used when referring to this sovereign

Wáng Yánxī


Yǒnglóng (永隆) 939-944

Did not exist

Did not exist

Zhū Wénjìn


Did not exist

Did not exist

Tiāndé Dì (天德帝)
(both as Emperor of Yin and Emperor of Min)

Wáng Yánzhèng


Tiāndé (天德) 943-945

Site Search


Random Articals


Join Our Newsletter



Send This Page to Friend

To Email this page to a friend

1. Use Your Default Email Client
2. Use Our Recommend Page

Online Contact



+ 86 158 00 323 707

+ 86 158 00 323 707


Go back to the previous page

Missing / Incorrect

If you like this article please feel free to share it to your favorite site listed below:

Choose A Style:

Font Family


Courier New

Sans MS

New Roman



Font Colors
black blue green purple red white
Font Size
Site Options Help | Admin Login
control panel