Former Shu

Great Shu (Chinese: 大蜀, Pinyin: Dàshǔ) called in retrospect Former Shu (Chinese: 前蜀, Pinyin: Qiánshǔ) was one of the Ten Kingdoms formed during the chaotic period between the rules of the Tang dynasty and the Song dynasty. It existed 907-925 CE.

The country's name changed from "Shu" to "Han" (Chinese: 漢, Pinyin: Hàn) in 917-918, which is not to be confused with another simultaneous Chinese kingdom during the same Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms Period, Great Han (Chinese: 大漢, Pinyin: Dàhàn) which was initially called Great Yue (Chinese: 大越, Pinyin: Dàyuè​) until 918 or 919, and is called in retrospect Southern Han (simplified Chinese: 南汉; traditional Chinese: 南漢; pinyin: Nán Hàn), 917–971 CE.

Founding of the Shu Kingdom

Wang Jian was named military governor of western Sichuan by the Tang court in 891. As the Tang Dynasty weakened and eventually fell in 907, Wang was able to expand his holdings into eastern Sichuan and took the title of emperor as the Tang fell in 907.

Extant of the Shu Kingdom

The Shu was based in its capital of Chengdu and controlled most of present-day Sichuan , parts of southern Gansu and Shaanxi , part of western Hubei and all of contemporary Chongqing . Not only did it border the Later Liang Dynasty, the successor to the Tang Dynasty in the north, but it also bordered the Chinese kingdoms of Nanping and Chu and the non-Chinese peoples to the south (formerly Nanzhao and soon to be the Kingdom of Dali and Amdo Tibet.

Fall of the Shu Kingdom

Wang Jian died in 918, having been replaced by an incompetent son. The Later Tang Dynasty replaced the Later Liang Dynasty in 923. Shortly after that, the Shatuo Turk controlled northern China dynasty marched in under the leadership of Li Cunxu, and incorporated the kingdom into his domains.

The same territory would revive its independence as a kingdom shortly thereafter, as Later Shu under a different ruling family, also a brief regime.

Sovereigns in the Former Shu Kingdom 907-925

Temple Names (Miao Hao廟號 miao4 hao4)

Posthumous Names (Shi Hao諡號 )

Personal Names

Period of Reigns

Era Names (Nian Hao年號) and their according range of years

高祖 gao1 zu3

Too tedious thus not used when referring to this sovereign

王建 wang2 jian4


Tianfu (天復 tian1 fu4) 907

Wucheng (武成 wu3 cheng22)

Yongping (永平 yong3 ping2)

Tongzheng (通正 tong1 zheng4)

Tianhan (天漢 tian1 han4)

Guangtian (光天 guang1 tian1)

後主 hou4 zhu3

Did not exist

王衍 wang2 yan3


Qiande (乾德 qian2 de2)

Xiankang (咸康 xian2 kang1)

Site Search


Random Articals


Join Our Newsletter



Send This Page to Friend

To Email this page to a friend

1. Use Your Default Email Client
2. Use Our Recommend Page

Online Contact



+ 86 158 00 323 707

+ 86 158 00 323 707

Go back to the previous page

Missing / Incorrect

If you like this article please feel free to share it to your favorite site listed below:

Choose A Style:

Font Family


Courier New

Sans MS

New Roman



Font Colors
black blue green purple red white
Font Size
Site Options Help | Admin Login
control panel