South Sudan





Official Languages:


Time Zone:


Dialing Code:




Federal presidential


619,745 km2

largest city:


Currency :

South Sudanese pound

ISO 3166 code:


South Sudan Flag

Basic Info

South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan and previously known as Southern Sudan, is a landlocked country in east-central Africa that is part of the United Nations subregion of Eastern Africa. Its current capital is Juba, which is also its largest city; the capital city is planned to be moved to the more centrally located Ramciel in the future. South Sudan is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west and Sudan to the north. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal.

South Sudan Location in World Map


South Sudan lies between latitudes 3° and 13°N, and longitudes 24° and 36°E. It is covered in tropical forest, swamps, and grassland. The White Nile passes through the country, passing by Juba


outh Sudan has a climate similar to an Equatorial or tropical climate, characterized by a rainy season of high humidity and large amounts of rainfall followed by a drier season. The temperature on average is always high with July being the coolest month with an average temperatures falling between 68 and 86 °F (20 and 30 °C) and March being the warmest month with average temperatures ranging from 73 to 98 °F (23 to 37 °C)


The most recent December 18, 2012 Pew Research Forum on Religion and Public Life estimates that in 2010, 6.010 million Christians, 3.270 million traditional African religion followers, 610,000 muslims and 50,000 unaffiliated (no known religion) peoples lived in South Sudan. This would mean that in 2010 according to the Pew Forum, about 60.46% of the population of South Sudan's total 9,940,000 population were Christians.

Administrative divisions

he ten states of South Sudan grouped in the three historical provinces of the Sudan.

South Sudan Administrative divisions Map

See Other Map

Site Search


Random Articals


Join Our Newsletter



Send This Page to Friend

To Email this page to a friend

1. Use Your Default Email Client
2. Use Our Recommend Page

Online Contact



+ 86 158 00 323 707

+ 86 158 00 323 707

Go back to the previous page

Missing / Incorrect

If you like this article please feel free to share it to your favorite site listed below:

Choose A Style:

Font Family


Courier New

Sans MS

New Roman



Font Colors
black blue green purple red white
Font Size
Site Options Help | Admin Login
control panel