Later han dynasty (Five Dynasties)

The Later han dynasty (Simplified Chinese 后汉; Traditional Chinese 後漢; pinyin Hòu Hàn) was founded in 947. It was the fourth of the Five Dynasties and the third consecutive Shatuo Turk dynasty. It was among the shortest-lived of all Chinese regimes, lasting for slightly under four years before it was overcome by a rebellion that resulted in the founding of the later zhou dynasty.

Establishment of the Later Han

Liu Zhiyuan was military governor of Bingzhou, an area around Taiyuan in present-day Shanxi , an area that had long been a stronghold of the Shatuo Turks. However, the Later jin dynasty that he served was a weak dynasty and was little more than a puppet of the expanding Khitan empire to the north. When the Later Jin finally did decide to defy the Khitan, they sent an expedition south that resulted in the destruction of the Later jin dynasty.

The Khitan force made it all the way to the Yellow River before the emperor decided to return to his base in present-day Beijing , in the heart of the contentious Sixteen Prefectures. However, following constant harassment from the Chinese on the return route, he died of an illness in May 947. The combination of the fall of the Later jin dynasty and the succession crisis among the Khitan resulted in a power vacuum. Liu Zhiyuan was able to fill that void and founded the Later han dynasty.

Territorial Extent

Liu Zhiyuan established his capital at Bian, present day Kaifeng. The later five dynasties held essentially the same territory as the Later jin dynasty. Its southern border with the southern states stretched from the East China Sea about halfway between the Yellow River and the Yangtze River before dipping south toward the Yangtze at its mid reaches before turning northwest along the northern border of Sichuan and extending as far west as Shaanxi . In the north, it included much of Shaanxi and Hebei except the Sixteen Prefectures, which were lost by the Later jin dynasty to what was by this time known as the Liao Dynasty.

Short-lived dynasty

The Later han dynasty was among the shortest-lived regimes in the long history of China. Liu Zhiyuan died the year following the founding of the dynasty, to be succeeded by his teenage son. The dynasty was overthrown two years later when Guo Wei, a Han Chinese led a military coup and declared himself emperor of the later zhou dynasty.

northern han dynasty

The remnants of the later five dynasties returned to the traditional Shatuo Turk stronghold of Shanxi and established the northern han dynasty kingdom, sometimes referred to the eastern han dynasty. Under Liao dynasty protection, it was able to remain independent of the later zhou dynasty. The song dynasty emerged from the ashes of the later zhou dynasty in 960 and emerged as a strong, stabilizing presence in northern China.

Though they had been successful in bringing the southern states under its control, a process essentially completed in 978, the northern han dynasty were able to hold out due to help from the Liao Dynasty. In fact, the continued existence of the northern han dynasty was one of the two thorns in the side of Liao-Song relations. Finally, the song dynasty was able to incorporate the northern han dynasty into its territory in 979, essentially completing the reunification of China, with the exception of the Sixteen Prefectures, which would remain in the hands of the Liao dynasty.

Sovereigns of the Later han dynasty 947–951

Temple names

Posthumous names (Shi Hao諡號 )

Personal names

Period of reigns

Era names (Nian Hao年號) and their according range of years

Gāozǔ 高祖

Hòu​hàn​ Gāozǔ 後漢高祖,"later five dynasties High Ancestor," 高祖 Gāozǔ "High Ancestor" being a conventional designation for dynastic founders, as in the case of 高祖 Gāozǔ Emperor Gaozu of Han, founder of the originalhan dynasty, though in that case 高祖 Gāozǔ is histemple name, identical with thetemple name of this Later han dynasty (Five Dynasties) ruler, and the original han dynasty founder'sposthumous nameis 高皇帝 Gāo Huáng​dì​ "High Emperor" as the founder of the second of the historically recorded Dynasties in Chinese history, which is what distinguishes the two in their honorific titular names.

Liǔ Zhīyuǎn Simplified Chines e刘知远; Traditional Chinese 劉知遠


Tiānfú 天福 947
Qiányòu 乾祐 948

Did not exist

Yǐndì Simplified Chinese 隐帝; Traditional Chinese 隱帝

Liǔ Chéngyòu Simplified Chinese 刘承祐; Traditional Chinese 劉承祐


Qiányòu 乾祐 948–951

Site Search


Random Articals


Join Our Newsletter



Send This Page to Friend

To Email this page to a friend

1. Use Your Default Email Client
2. Use Our Recommend Page

Online Contact



+ 86 158 00 323 707

+ 86 158 00 323 707

Go back to the previous page

Missing / Incorrect

If you like this article please feel free to share it to your favorite site listed below:

Choose A Style:

Font Family


Courier New

Sans MS

New Roman



Font Colors
black blue green purple red white
Font Size
Site Options Help | Admin Login
control panel